• Please clear your private messages. Your inbox is close to being full.

Kickoff Rule?

jitter77

Well-known member
In the GB / Chi game Patterson touched the kick off at the 1, but was ruled OB. Chi got the ball at the 40 like the kick off went OB. I don't understand this rule. The ball was still in bounds and could have bounced into the EZ for a touch back at worst.
If you touch the ball i think it should be downed there.
 

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

madinsomniac

Well-known member
The rule says if a player out of bounds touches tge ball its out of bounds too... so if you are a competent ST coach you teach your guys to stand out of bounds and touch anything close to the line... free field position
 

CoolieMan

Most INtelligent Poster
In the GB / Chi game Patterson touched the kick off at the 1, but was ruled OB. Chi got the ball at the 40 like the kick off went OB. I don't understand this rule. The ball was still in bounds and could have bounced into the EZ for a touch back at worst.
If you touch the ball i think it should be downed there.

was Patterson out of bounds when he touched the ball?
 

ADVERTISEMENT

Cope

Podcast/ VidCast/ Writer
Or was it the coverage man was OOB and touched the football? If so, the OOB player can not be the first to touch the football.
 

ADVERTISEMENT

Top