NFL Owners Approve 14 Team Playoff Structure

By Beth Ruzanic


In a conference call on Tuesday afternoon the NFL owners approved a 14 team playoff structure beginning with the 2020 season. At least seventy-five percent of the owners had to vote for this proposition – no final vote tally was made readily available.

In this new configuration, only the best teams in the AFC and the NFC will secure a first round bye. Previously, both the first and second seeds got to sit out Wild Card Weekend, but now the number two seed will have to play the number seven seed.


What do you think about this expanded playoff structure? Let us know in the comments!


Shop the newest Pittsburgh Steelers fan gear at Fanatics!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *