Connect with us

NFL News

The NFL has Officially Expanded to 17 Games

Photo by Doug Pensinger - Getty Images

The NFL has Officially Expanded to 17 Games

The Pittsburgh Steelers just tweeted the NFL has expanded the regular season from 16 to 17 games.  Their extra opponent will be the Seattle Seahawks.

The entire AFC North will host the NFC West this year, and opponents are determined by the place they finished within their respective divisions.  The Ravens will host the Rams, the Browns will host the Cardinals, and the Bengals will host the 49ers.  Next year, the AFC North will be the away team against a different NFC division.

With a game added, it gives all current and future players the ability to break single season records, so expect some of them to start falling in upcoming years.

EDIT: The start date for the season and Super Bowl date has been announced:

Season ticket holder and lifelong Steeler fanatic. Hosts the Podcast and Steeler Nation Forum Member: Cope


More in NFL News